Featured Post

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall

Monday, October 16, 2017

Review: Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson



About the book:
In her kitchen at Rose's Red Door Inn, executive chef Caden Holt is calm, collected, and competent. But when her boss asks her to show off their beautiful island to impress a visiting travel writer and save the inn, Caden is forced to face a world much bigger than her kitchen--and a man who makes her wish she was beautiful.

Journalist Adam Jacobs is on a forced sabbatical on Prince Edward Island. He's also on assignment to uncover a story. Instead he's falling in love with the island's red shores and Caden's sweets.

When Caden discovers Adam isn't who she thought he was, she realizes that the article he's writing could do more than ruin the inn's chances for survival--it might also break her heart.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Weekend Wrap-up (October 14, 2017)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Friday, October 13, 2017

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall


I don't know about you, but I have a LOT of books on my TBR...including some that have been on there for way too long. So, I've decided to challenge myself to get 15 books off my TBR by winter (December 21st).

Here's my list:

What are some books you want to get off your TBR this fall??

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Thursday, October 12, 2017

Review: Deadly Proof by Rachel Dylan



About the book:
Standing For What's Right Could Cost Her Everything

Tapped as lead counsel in a corporate cover-up lawsuit against Mason Pharmaceutical, Kate Sullivan knows this case could make her career. What really drives her, though, is getting justice for the victims whose lives were ruined by the company's dangerous new drug. But when a whistleblower turns up dead, it paints a target on the back of everyone involved.

Former Army Ranger turned private investigator Landon James steps in to handle security for Kate. He's still haunted by mistakes in his past and is determined never to let something like that happen again. But it soon appears someone is willing to do anything--even commit murder--to keep the case from going to trial.

As danger closes in, Landon can't help but admire Kate's courage and resolve--but will her determination not to back down become too great of a risk?
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Review: Loving Luther by Allison Pittman



About the book:
Germany, 1505

In the dark of night, Katharina von Bora says the bravest good-bye a six-year-old can muster and walks away as the heavy convent gate closes behind her.

Though the cold walls offer no comfort, Katharina soon finds herself calling the convent her home. God, her father. This, her life. She takes her vows—a choice more practical than pious—but in time, a seed of discontent is planted by the smuggled writings of a rebellious excommunicated priest named Martin Luther. Their message? That Katharina is subject to God, and no one else. Could the Lord truly desire more for her than this life of servitude?

In her first true step of faith, Katharina leaves the only life she has ever known. But the freedom she has craved comes with a price, and she finds she has traded one life of isolation for another. Without the security of the convent walls or a family of her own, Katharina must trust in both the God who saved her and the man who paved a way for rescue. Luther’s friends are quick to offer shelter, but Katharina longs for all Luther has promised: a home, a husband, perhaps even the chance to fall in love.
My rating:
4 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Review: Reunited by Danger by Carol J. Post



About the book:
CALCULATED REVENGE

When a former classmate is murdered at Detective Caleb Lyons’s ten-year high school reunion, he knows the victim’s old group of friends are keeping secrets. That includes Cedar Key, Florida, police officer Amber Kingston. Back in school, Amber was headed for trouble, but now she’s as dedicated to the law as he is. As he works overtime to get the pretty cop to open up to him, Amber and her friends receive messages threatening payback for past deeds. And her friends keep dying…one by one. But protecting Amber and unmasking a murderer isn’t just the widowed detective’s shot at redemption—it’s his unexpected second chance at love.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, October 9, 2017

FYI - Deadly Proof $1.99 eBook Sale & Facebook Party!!




Deadly Proof (eBook) is on SALE for $1.99 this week only! Links are below. Also, Rachel Dylan is hosting a Facebook event this week where every day she is doing special giveaways to celebrate the sale! Check it out: https://www.facebook.com/events/117989275562156/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Deadly-Proof-Atlanta-Justice-Book-ebook/dp/B0713TL43H/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&linkCode=ll1&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=53ab27b0595f06d94afdb73f6c06abca

BN: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/deadly-proof-rachel-dylan/1125516134?ean=9781493411993#/

CBD: https://www.christianbook.com/deadly-proof-ebook-rachel-dylan/9781493411993/pd/92504EB?event=ESRCG



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

CD Review + Giveaway! The Answer by Jeremy Camp



Tracks:
1. Word Of Life
2. My Defender
3. The Answer
4. Storm
5. My Father's Arms
6. Never Stopped Loving
7. Tell The Whole World
8. Heaven's Shore (Forevermore)
9. Carriers
10. Love So Great
11. Awake O Sleeper 

My Defender Music Video:

My Thoughts:

When I first put The Answer CD into my car's stereo and hit play, I could tell I liked it from the first song on. After listening to it several more times, I grew to really like it and couldn't help but sing along to my favorite songs.

I'm not that familiar with Jeremy Camp's previous albums; I know certain songs (i.e. Empty Me, Walk By Faith, Take You Back), but haven't listened much to his albums. I was somewhat surprised by how much I liked every song on this album. I loved My Defender, Never Stopped Loving, and Word of Life because of the lyrics and how the songs got stuck in my head. ;) I really liked Awake O Sleeper because it sounded different from any of the other songs on the album.

Overall, a great album and I definitely recommend it! If you are a fan of previous Jeremy Camp music, be sure to get this latest album.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

  This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


GIVEAWAY! 

Enter to win a copy of The Answer CD! Giveaway is open to US residents only and ends 10/13. Enter via the giveaway form below:



“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller /FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days on the same blog, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.